View Cart

Thee More Shallows 'Dad Jams' digital, CD and limited edition vinyl album MONO-172

Release date: 28 May 2021. All physical pre-orders will ship before the release date. Physical formats include a free digital download in a choice of formats, delivered by email.

Listen to first single, 'Ancient Baby':

Three-piece US experimental indie-rock band Thee More Shallows released three albums and a few EPs back in the early 00’s, garnering critical acclaim and a cult following before the band disbanded. Each of the members moved into new phases of their lives. Now, frontman Dee
has emerged from the wilderness working under the Thee More Shallows moniker again with the help of some previous band members and some new musicians. New album ‘Dad Jams’ is the first Thee More Shallows offering in fourteen years and comes out this May on Monotreme Records.

‘Dad Jams’ is a retrospective look at life’s trajectory and the personal
and creative choices that shape its convoluted path. Musically, it retains
the adventurous, experimental edge of previous Thee More Shallows
albums, but is also rooted in a stronger pop sensibility, with plenty of
bouncy, hooky melodies that burrow into the mind for days.

Speaking on his intervening years between Thee More Shallows’ last
album ‘Book Of Bad Breaks’ and ‘Dad Jams’, Dee said, “For me, that
meant raising kids, making music for TV and film, and incrementally
earning some hard-won peace of mind. My body has (to quote my doctor
sister) sclerosed, and my impulses have slowed down enough to do a
weak impersonation of wisdom, but I still feel like the same person who
helped make those old records.”

‘Dad Jams’ is an indie-pop ode to waking up middle aged with kids. First
single ‘Ancient Baby’ rockets the album open with an invigorating blast of
psychedelic hippy-infused pop, its weaving flute refrain becoming more
and more embedded in the mind with each return. ‘Boogie Woogie’
builds around a restrained synth groove that surprises and delights with
crystalline harmonies in the sort of way bands like Foster The People
and The Temper Trap combine sensitive emotive themes in a tightly
packed indie formula.

On creating the new album Dee explains, “So when I finally found time
to eke out another collection of songs - in the thick of my 'dad' years - I
asked Brian, Jason, and Tadas if I could use our old band name. They
graciously said yes. Jason flew out and was able to contribute wonderful
drums, Cosmos Lee visited and played violin - and as usual I did my
level best to describe how I felt. There are also new characters - my
friends Eddie and Laura Burke sing on a song, Silviolini Graciani makes
his debut, phoning in all the way from Sicily - and you get to hear the
voice of Rayel, an epic talent deserving of world-renown.”

Elsewhere on the album the catchy warped acoustic melodies of
‘Drinking Tang’ expand into bubbly synths and ice-cream sweet reflective
heart-tugging goodness, and ‘Hey, Come On!’ moves more sparsely with
a distant drum machine under pinning melancholic lyrics. Each track on
this record unfurls in its own way, like little episodes in parenthood with
more and more sonic gems to find on each listen.
‘Dad Jams’ is probably the coolest album anyone’s ever written about
fatherhood. The album’s playful melting pot of sounds combines
eccentric experimentation with perfect epic pop moments, achieving the
mysterious feat of merging electronic, experimental and indie rock
genres seamlessly for an intriguing set of incredibly engaging earworms

Pressing Information

Pressing of 200 copies on 180 g white vinyl. Includes a digital download coupon inside.


  1. Ancient Baby
  2. A Mummy At The Lake
  3. Boogie Woogie
  4. Cold Picture
  5. Copy Body
  6. Drinking Tang
  7. Little Brave Friends
  8. Hey, Come On!
  9. Hocus Pocus
  10. A Strobelight On A Dumb Dancefloor
  11. Wizard Wednesdays