View Cart

KHOMPA 'Perceive Reality' (digital, CD or 180g vinyl LP) MONO-188

Release date: 29 April 2022. All physical product orders will also receive an emailed link to download the album in a choice of digital formats. Physical product pre-orders will ship before the release date.We charge for shipping by weight, so you can save on ordering multiple items from the shop.

Note to EU customers: As the UK has left the EU, we no longer charge VAT, but you may be liable for VAT and handling charges on delivery. Please keep this in mind when ordering.

Listen to the track 'Belief':

Perceive Reality is the second album from KHOMPA, the electrifying solo project of Davide Compagnoni, featuring an adventurous mix of drumming, electronics and cutting edge drum triggering technology.

KHOMPA’s previous album, the ground-breaking The Shape of Drums to Come (2016), which was featured on and Modern Drummer, introduced this unique audiovisual live project, whose main elements are: a drummer, a conventional drum kit, 3 cutting edge drum sensors, a laptop and a stepsequencer. Each drum controls a virtual musical instrument (synthesizers, samplers, arpeggiators, etc.) within Ableton Live music software that, in combination with a custom stepsequencer developed with MaxforLive app, allows Davide to perform real melodies/electronic orchestration without the use of any backing track. 100% live. In addition to that, he also uses a microphone set up in the middle of the drumkit to capture the dynamics of the acoustic drums and translate them through an 'envelope follower' into electronic parts in several ways.

About ‘Perceive Reality’:

Opener Belief bursts the record into life, as skittering arpeggios spin across a vast open plain of pad synths, before the ground splits beneath it with thrashing drums. On Conceived, Davide creates a simultaneously dark and euphoric wall of crystallised sound, a cacophony of pounding drum hits and icy electronic stabs, with an intensity that continues into Collide. With its shuddering, cut-out reverbed synth pads split in two by crashing cymbals and snares, the song spins itself into a transformative cycling trance, before slowly fading and washing away into silence, only to be broken by Conjectures’ sudden cymbal slams and transfixed toms that roll like thunder into a frenzy, before their final lightning strike. On Subjective, arpeggios twist around beating kick drums and toms, quickly scaling to a furious yet tightly wound sequence that envelops the listener, before Relief, where the album finally takes the shape of a huge wave of calm, glimmering hope and reflection.

Pressing Information

CDs in 4-panel digifile sleeves
Ltd. pressing of 300 180 g white vinyl LPs with printed inner disco bag and digital download coupon.


  1. Belief
  2. Conceived (ft Bienoise)
  3. Objective
  4. Collide (ft TOMAT)
  5. Concrete
  6. Conjectures (ft Bienoise)
  7. Dianoia
  8. Subjective (ft TOMAT)
  9. Relief